Top 10 Largest States In India By Area

India is the 7th largest country in the world that is spread across 3,287,263 square kilometers area. There are 28 states and 9 union territories in India which are spread in a sizeable area. Here is the top 11 states list for your knowledge. This is freshly updated list after the state of Jammu and Kashmir is divided to 2 Union territories that is J&K UT and Ladakh in October 2019. This reduced the number of states in India to 28 while number of union territories are increased to 9. Interestingly before this bifurcation Jammu & Kashmir state was the fifth largest state in India.

Top 10 largest states in India which have big area

1. Rajasthan

top 10 largest states in india by area
image source :

Area : 3,42,269 square kilometers

Capital: Jaipur

Formed In: 1 Nov 1956

Population: 6,85,48,437

Official Language: Hindi

No. of Districts: 33

2. Madhya Pradesh

image source:

Area : 3,08,252 square kilometers

Capital: Bhopal

Formed In: 1 Nov 1956

Population: 72,626,809

Official Language: Hindi

No. of Districts: 51

3. Maharashtra

image source: DigitalOfficePro

Area : 3,07,713 square kilometers

Capital: Mumbai

Formed In: 1 May 1960

Population: 11,23,74,333

Official Language: Marathi

No. of Districts: 36

4. Uttar Pradesh

uttar pradesh-top-10-largest-states-in-india
image source:

Area : 243,286 square kilometers

Capital: Lucknow

Formed In: 26 January 1950

Population: 19,98,12,341

Official Language: Hindi

No. of Districts: 75

5. Gujarat


Area : 196,024 square kilometers

Capital: Gandhinagar

Formed In: 1 May 1960

Population: 6,04,39,692

Official Language: Gujarati

No. of Districts: 26

6. Karnataka

image source:

Area : 191,791 square kilometers

Capital: Bangalore

Formed In: 1 Nov 1956

Population: 6,10,95,297

Official Language: Kannada

No. of Districts: 28

7. Andhra Pradesh

image source :

Area : 1,60,205 square kilometers

Capital: Hyderabad –

Formed In: 1 October 1953

Population: 4,95,06,799

Official Language: Telugu

No. of Districts: 13

8. Odisha

image source: pinterest

Area : 1,55,820 square kilometers

Capital: Bhubaneswar

Formed In: 1 April 1936

Population: 4,19,74,218

Official Language: Odia

No. of Districts: 30


image source:

Area : 1,35,194 square kilometers

Capital: Naya Raipur

Formed In: 1 November 2000

Population: 2,55,45,198

Official Language: Hindi

No. of Districts: 27

10. Tamil Nadu

image source:

Area : 1,30,058 square kilometers

Capital: Chennai

Formed In: 26 January 1950

Population: 7,21,47,030

Official Language: Tamil

No. of Districts: 37

Goa is the smallest state in India by area and Uttar Pradesh is the state with highest population in India. This is a very resourceful and knowledgeable information for students and competitive exams aspirants.